.

Celebrate Meatless Mondays At These Local Veggie-Friendly Eateries in Sherman Oaks

Don't worry, it's completely optional to observe Los Angeles City Council's newest approved resolution.

Earlier this week, Los Angeles City Council approved a resolution to observe "Meatless Mondays," making L.A. the largest city to declare their support for the movement.

The resolution was introduced by Councilmembers Jan Perry and Ed Reyes as a way to "support comprehensive sustainability efforts as well as to further encourage residents to eat a more varied plant-based diet to protect their health and protect animals."

But no need to worry - observing the weekly "holiday" is entirely optional for Angelenos. What's more, November is World Vegan Month. If you're looking to celebrate Meatless Mondays (or Veganovember), here are some local restaurants that are vegetarian- or vegan-friendly.

Click on the Sherman Oaks Patch directory listing for more info about these great places:

* Antonio's Pizzeria

* Aromi Cafe

* California Charbroil Burger

* Ciao Coffee & Tea

* The Flame Broiler

* Hagop Restaurant

* Hana Grill

* Il Tiramisu

* Kung Pao China Bistro

* La Salsa

* Marie Callender's Restaurant & Bakery

* Marmalade Cafe

* Massis Kabob

* Mogo's Restaurant

* Natas Pastries

* P.F. Chang's China Bistro

* Quiznos

* Robbie Mac's Pizza

* Roman's

* Salvemini's Pizza

* Simon's Cafe

* Spumoni Restaurant

* Sushi Fukyo

* Taste of India

* Tokyo Grill 7

 

Also see: 

VEGETARIAN THANKSGIVING RECIPES

* 5 Vegetarian Thanksgiving Dishes

* Pumpkin Cheesecake Recipe for Thanksgiving

 

*City Council Supports 'Meatless Monday' for a Healthier L.A.

* Dept. of Eating: Why Vegan?

* Concern of the Environment Includes Your Fellow Creatures

* Crushing on Quinoa...My Favorite Super Food!

* Hot Potatoes at the Farmers Market

Do you have other suggestions? Tell us in the COMMENTS below.

John November 19, 2012 at 05:32 PM
This is lame. There is nothing wrong with meat, but there is something wrong with feeding animals that we eat, foods that they do not eat naturally and need to be drugged to live long enough to slaughter. Funny because most of the restaurants that are listed above, feed humans foods that are not part of our natural diet also, which leads to health problems, and can be blamed for obesity, cancer, heart disease, and much more. Get a clue folks. Meat is not the enemy, it's that processing and manufacturing of foods that is.
kmel November 19, 2012 at 05:39 PM
Hello, looking at the list of restaurants some of these are closed, for months. When talking "Meatless Monday" I believe it would be a good idea to include restaurants that specialize in "meatless". In Sherman Oaks we have a few good ones. Have you been to Vstation (across from Black Dog Yoga). V station has great Thai food with no meat. How about Sun Cafe in Studio City. And another restaurant that didnt make the list above though probably the one restaurant in town with the largest "meatless" menu options, Hugo's (on the border of SO and Studio City). Hugo's not only has some of the great tasting food, they have excellent service and I will tell you a secret--their menu is 100% GMO free. Enjoy your meatless Monday, chow for now.
Dr. Bob Cohen November 19, 2012 at 06:40 PM
How much City Council time and expense went into this resolution? Is it a good use of City taxpayer dollars and human resources? I doubt it.
John November 19, 2012 at 07:46 PM
These vegetarian restaurants may be meatless, but the meat substitutes they use are poisonous and the other chemical, man-made, additives, make them horrible "food" choices and are anti-nutrients. This kind of "food" should not even be in existence, and anybody that thinks they are eating healthy because they are not eating meat should do five minutes of research to see what kind of horrible things they are putting in their bodies.
Elke Heitmeyer November 19, 2012 at 10:26 PM
VeStation is a great vegan restaurant in the El Torito Plaza. Healthy and surprisingly delicious. Mass production of animals for human consumption is really bad for the planet's and our personal health. Read or see the documentary "Diet for a New America" - one of many resources. L.A. City council is trying to start the dialog about our dietary choices with this resolution, which took them about 5 minutes to review and pass! Not too many tax Dollars involved. John, one of the vegan meat substitutes is tempeh for example. "Like tofu, tempeh is made from soybeans, but it is a whole soybean product with different nutritional characteristics and textural qualities. Tempeh's fermentation process and its retention of the whole bean give it a higher content of protein, dietary fiber, and vitamins"
kmel November 20, 2012 at 08:22 AM
You may want to add another Docu-movie to the list and watch "Forks Over Knifes." This movie is more recent then Diet For a New America and can give the viewers a better understanding of why Meatless Mondays. Btw, John, I recommended restaurants other then the BBq's, Grills on the list that have more options to eat meatless. I'm not recommending meat substitutes or fake food, or chemically made foods--you can get that at any restaurant.
John November 20, 2012 at 07:40 PM
Yes one of a hundred meat substitutes is not bad for you - great point. Tofu is not good for people unless it is fermented. Also the soy bean is almost always a GMO product. It is not a health food and is not good for the environment. The CAFOs (confined animal feeding operation) are bad for the environment and for human consumption. Grass-fed animals are very good for human consumption and also very good for the environment. The abundance of ruminants roaming the country is one of the reasons this country had some of the best soil for crops when the European settlers first arrived, and is now it is not, because their numbers are down and the cattle we eat are kept in confined quarters. Also, I do not imagine the LA city council will say anything different than what the USDA says, which is designed for marketing food and has no interest in people's health. Please don't tell me that you have faith in them...
John November 20, 2012 at 07:47 PM
Forks Over Knives has some really good content, but it strays from the truth over and over again and quotes really bad "science." It is a movie, don't forget. If you would like to see a review about this, I suggest you give this a look if you want the whole truth about that movie: http://rawfoodsos.com/2011/09/22/forks-over-knives-is-the-science-legit-a-review-and-critique/

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something